Alpha 15 Portfolio

Overall Rating

Rating: 2.9/5. From 7 votes.
Please wait...
3.5
Rating from 17 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Alpha 15 Portfolio, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 4 votes
Rating: 3.5/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 7 votes
Rating: 2.9/5. From 7 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

4 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
xelazed
xelazed
5 years ago

I subscribed to this service in January based on an infomercial pitch from NewsMax and their front man John Shubert. The pitch was convincing. John promised a small number of stocks (15) all of which would be vetted by proprietary information that John developed to discover what stocks large institutional investors were betting on (and buying). John claimed that this system historically delivered returns that beat the S&P500 by a factor of at least 5. The annual subscription price was around $200.

The portfolio performance to date has been very disappointing. A hypothetical investment of $20,000 in each of the 15 stocks has the following results to date:

PerfHist Date PerfHist $Por$L $Invested %Return %AnnReturn S&P Close S&P Return
1/15/2015 $0.00 $265,362.00 0.00% 1,992.67 0.00%
2/4/2015 -$1,766.00 $265,362.00 -0.67% -12.15% 2,041.51 2.45%
2/5/2015 -$1,613.00 $265,362.00 -0.61% -10.56% 2,062.52 3.51%
2/6/2015 $2,807.48 $265,362.00 1.06% 17.55% 2,055.47 3.15%
2/9/2015 $2,294.00 $265,362.00 0.86% 12.62% 2,046.74 2.71%
2/13/2015 $7,111.94 $265,138.00 2.68% 33.76% 2,096.99 5.24%
2/17/2015 $7,781.00 $265,138.00 2.93% 32.46% 2,100.34 5.40%
2/19/2015 $10,568.00 $265,138.00 3.99% 41.57% 2,097.45 5.26%
2/20/2015 $11,990.50 $265,138.00 4.52% 45.85% 2,110.30 5.90%
2/23/2015 $9,925.10 $265,138.00 3.74% 35.03% 2,109.66 5.87%
2/27/2015 $13,656.66 $265,138.00 5.15% 43.72% 2,104.50 5.61%
3/2/2015 $15,494.25 $265,138.00 5.84% 46.37% 2,116.28 6.20%
3/6/2015 $11,377.00 $265,138.00 4.29% 31.32% 2,071.26 3.94%
3/9/2015 $13,572.00 $265,138.00 5.12% 35.25% 2,079.43 4.35%
3/17/2015 $10,943.20 $255,960.00 4.28% 25.58% 2,072.88 4.03%
3/22/2015 $14,811.00 $255,960.00 5.79% 32.00% 2,108.91 5.83%
3/25/2015 $10,262.00 $255,960.00 4.01% 21.21% 2,061.05 3.43%
3/30/2015 $13,160.28 $255,960.00 5.14% 25.36% 2,081.60 4.46%
4/6/2015 $15,431.00 $255,960.00 6.03% 27.17% 2,082.00 4.48%
4/14/2015 $13,687.10 $255,960.00 5.35% 21.93% 2,094.47 5.11%
4/20/2015 $11,593.00 $255,960.00 4.53% 17.40% 2,101.66 5.47%
4/26/2015 $8,853.00 $243,852.00 3.63% 13.12% 2,117.69 6.27%
5/4/2015 $7,429.80 $279,240.00 2.66% 8.91% 2,108.29 5.80%
5/10/2015 $10,623.60 $279,240.00 3.80% 12.08% 2,116.10 6.19%
5/11/2015 $12,627.70 $279,240.00 4.52% 14.23% 2,105.33 5.65%
5/17/2015 $13,108.51 $269,183.81 4.87% 14.57% 2122.73 6.53%
5/25/2015 $11,744.20 $269,183.81 4.36% 12.25% 2126.06 6.69%
6/1/2015 $7,653.23 $269,183.81 2.84% 7.57% 2110.87 5.93%
6/15/2015 $11,201.41 $269,183.81 4.16% 10.06% 2083.33 4.55%
7/2/2015 $6,306.00 $269,183.81 2.34% 5.09% 2077.42 4.25%
7/5/2015 $5,057.90 $269,183.81 1.88% 4.01% 2076.78 4.22%
7/6/2015 $2,927.30 $269,183.81 1.09% 2.31% 2081.8 4.47%
7/13/2015 $110.40 $269,183.81 0.04% 0.08% 2076.62 4.21%
7/20/2015 $1,647.40 $269,183.81 0.61% 1.20% 2126.64 6.72%
7/27/2015 -$15,819.90 $269,183.81 -5.88% -11.11% 2072.45 4.00%
8/3/2015 -$11,350.50 $269,183.81 -4.22% -7.70% 2103.84 5.58%

You can see that the portfolio started off well but has dropped off dramatically recently. In fairness, the S&P500 has been very anemic this year, but current money losing status of this portfolio is creating some serious doubts in my mind.

Add a Topic
1865
Add a Topic
150
👍 1
Rich Hoffman
2 years ago
Reply to  xelazed

Now, several years later, the subscription price is only $97, which is
a fair price, if the portfolio has informative information. I subscribe
to several other newsletters, and I try to form my own perspective
with the help of the info in the newsletters, rather than just blindly
follow all the recommendations of only one writer. I lean towards
Bill Spetrino’s advice (especially the views I get access to, from other
traders who are members of his B.I.O.). Bill invests his own money
in the stocks he recommends, and shows a correct gain/loss. Paul
Manpilly has good recommendations, but he deceptively shows false
total gains by adding up the gains/losses (pseudo math).

Add a Topic
1340
jussmokey
5 years ago

ve you continued on with their investment plan?
Is it doing any better? It sounds good but in real life things don’t always work the way they are supposed to.

👍 4
doogie5169
doogie5169
3 years ago

I became a “charter” subscriber of Alpha 15 two years ago–came in at something under $100. Last year I received no renewal notice–but after a couple of weeks of silence, I tracked them down and re-upped for something under $100 again. My “subscription” has expired again this past week, with no renewal notice and no weekly newsletter, and I’ve just checked to see what my annual “renewal” would be–and all they have is the extraordinary “lifetime” offer of almost $1,000…PLUS an annual renewal fee of $99.00. Talk about reeling people in! So here I sit with a portfolio of 15 stocks, no weekly newsletter, and a bait and switch that now requires a “ransom” payment of $997 for the “privilege” of paying $99/year for marginal advice on what to do with the 15 different companies that I now own in this portfolio. And all of that for a 0.40% total return in two years? And that return is AFTER the Trump rally! I suspect that I’ll be selling my shares this coming week in most of the 15 companies and moving to the investment strategy I’ve been using (much more successfully!) with some other portfolios. Alpha 15 sure hasn’t paid off…

Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
1340

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.

More Info