Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 153

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 154

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 155

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 156

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 157

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 163

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 164

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 165

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 166

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php:42) in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/header.php on line 167

Notice: Trying to get property 'slug' of non-object in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/single.php on line 44

Small Stock Specialist (defunct)

If you’ve subscribed to Small Stock Specialist (defunct), please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance


Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_rating in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1620

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_votes in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1621

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_distribution in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1622
No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1654

Quality Of Writing/Analysis


Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_rating in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1620

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_votes in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1621

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_distribution in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1622
No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1654

Value For Price


Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_rating in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1620

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_votes in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1621

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_distribution in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1622
No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1654

Customer Service


Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_rating in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1620

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_votes in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1621

Notice: Undefined index: stars-rating_distribution in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1622
No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 1654
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

13 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286

Notice: Undefined variable: karmaOutput in /home/sgumdev/public_html/wp-content/themes/sgum_2016/functions.php on line 3286
Paul
Paul
12 years ago

I don’t have any specifics about this penny stock newsletter, but Stansberry launched an earlier “stocks under $10” letter by Dan Ferris in 2007, and it quickly became “stocks under $5” — and that was before the market meltdown! Beware of all things Stanberry.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
1020
Cee Howard
Cee Howard
12 years ago

Don’t have much track record yet with Frank Curzio, but he appears to be a careful analyst, sincere and dedicated and willing to go the extra mile with subscribers.I have bought DEER and am watching with interest. I would caution that the Stansberry group are generally not for investor newbies, and suspect they would agree.

Add a Topic
1326
Alan in Los Angeles
Alan in Los Angeles
12 years ago

I ranked it 3 stars on performance and consistency since it is a very new offering and doesn’t have a track record. I ranked it 5 on value and interesting to read since the initial subscription price was only $99 and Frank writes good articles. He also has an excellent podcast that is free to everyone. My main complaint about the service so far is that Frank has a tendency to go after stocks with very low volume, perhaps this is normal with under 10 stocks, but it does wreak havoc when he publishes his picks. As your rightly guessed, DEER, was his latest and it skyrocketed in AH trading and had major action the next day. He has enough subscribers that his picks can move the market quickly on a thinly traded stock. I think that is the biggest detraction from his newsletter. I’d also like him to do a portfolio format like he did at the street.com but I understand that is not the way Stansberry does things. Also I miss the almost daily email updates that Frank used to send out on his picks as news came out and affected the pick. A big example, his shorting IMAX, now things have changed but no updates. Faster feedback would be nice. So far I’d say the newsletter has been of help.

Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
1433
Lauren in PA
Lauren in PA
12 years ago

I first heard Frank on Andrew Horowitz’s Disciplined Investor podcast and was impressed with his keen insight. Frank also has his own podcast, S&A Investor Radio. My $99 subscription is good value. I believe it is now $250. He offers good analysis of stocks ‘around $10’. I actually am glad he is not holding steadfast to his $10 limit in his quest for stock buy recommendations. As with all stock evaluations you have to do your homework too. So far so good. I will be able to give a more objective evaluation in a few more months. As a subscriber you also get to hear the daily musings of Porter Stansberry. You may not always agree with his viewpoint, he does have his share of detractors. But he always makes you think and balances the sometimes seemingly irrational exuberance that seems to prevail at times.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
388
TheMoneyGeek
12 years ago

I took up Frank on his introductory offer of $99 for the Penny Stock Specialist and was quickly upsold to two years for $250 with a 30-day money back guarantee. Frank is passionate and well schooled in fundamental analysis of stocks and has a good grasp of the markets and macro-economy. His free podcast is quite educational and entertaining.

As it turned out, I did take advantage of the 30-day money back guarantee because I felt that the picks were a bit too risky for my taste and I was bothered by the fact that although the new picks were released after-hours, they became well bid up before the market opened the next day. I wonder if some people or lifetime members got the picks before the market closed and were able to get in ahead of the pack.

One other thing that bothered me is that Frank had talked about most of the picks on his list on one podcast or another at some point, so when I subscribed, I was surprised that I had already heard of every stock on the buy list. If that’s the case, then why pay for a subscription?

I am no investor newbie, but many of the picks will likely take 18-24 months to pan out or even make money, and many enter very long downtrends or sideways movement before they start up-trending, so I’m not sure how much technical analysis takes place before recommending a stock.

Finally, I was overwhelmed with the amount of “spam” and e-mails I would get on a daily basis from Stansberry & Associates (S&A) after I became a paying member. While some had useful content, most were pushing some picks or investment choice designed to get you to subscribe to other newsletters. I had always thought of S&A as a highly respected research house; but when I began to get the marketing pieces they sent out, I was appalled at the marketing and hyped approached they took that could have been straight out of a late night infomercial. There are far better ways to promote your newsletter than to come out looking like you’re hawking Ginsu knives.

To get a refund, they would not allow an e-mail request; their reply was for me to call in for it. I spoke with my salesman who asked why I wanted to unsubscribe. I told him and my refund appeared on my credit card within days. I had also submitted e-mail questions to S&A about their suggested methods for trading under-$10 stocks, but I never received any replies.

Frank is an excellent podcaster and analyst and I will continue to listen to him. But it bothers me when newsletter writers brag about the gains their picks have garnered when those gains have been either scored in the after-hours market before most of us have a chance to buy in or rely on a high-tick in the price of a stock that virtually no one would have had an opportunity to sell at. Unfortunately, S&A cheapens his brand with all the unnecessary hyped up marketing approaches.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
372
RHALAN
RHALAN
11 years ago

The MONEYGEEK review is spot on. Many of Frank’s picks have been bid up very quickly, either in AH or early morning trading and you can’t even participate. I don’t think this is due to advance knowledge but that Frank picks very thinly traded stocks and even a few thousand shares can move the price up high. If you wait for the initial rush to die down you can sometimes get it at a lower price.

What is really alarming is the very large number of picks that got stopped out at 25% or more below the initial buy price. I don’t know the exact number, but it seems to be in the 50-60% range which indicates an enormous volatility, perhaps again aggravated by the thin trading volume. A thinly traded stock can easily go down 25% in a few days on any bad news.

MONEYGEEK is spot on when he talks about the horrific spamming that you get from Stansberry even though you are a paid subscriber. Probably 1 out of 10 emails from Stansberry are legit discussions on investments, the rest are teasers. It is incredibly annoying to get these when you have paid for a subscription. You can’t block the teasers since they have the same return email address as the legit stuff so you have to labor through all of them.

I don’t mind Frank talking up the stocks on his Podcast after you get a chance to buy them, why not get some hype on a stock you own. I can see if you didn’t buy quickly and he hypes it why you would be upset, it can be a two edged sword.

I like Frank’s style, his openess, his honesty. He is a refreshing change to the talking heads, his interviews are very good, his writing style is good. Perhaps the weakest point is his choosing too many thinly traded stocks for the portfolio. For the low price of his newsletter I’d say it is definitely worth checking out, but be very cautious about jumping into these low volume stocks.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Caulker
Caulker
11 years ago

Penny Stock Specialist

Frank Curzio does a good job of finding low priced stocks with good prospects. I have had mixed success due also to the more volatile nature of this catagory. His picks are not like all the spam and junk mail paid recos we all seem to get in abundance. Worth subscribing to.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
1326
Michael Arold
11 years ago

Frank is IMO one of the best small cap stock analysts out there. The newsletter name is a little bit misleading, since his picks also include names such as Citigroup with a market cap of 140 Billion USD. Barely a penny stock.
Personally, I would NOT subscribe to the newsletter if Frank would indeed discuss penny stocks, but that’s just me.
Frank offers good fundamental research and can be considered a “value guy”.
I subscribed to the newsletter, because I’m a technical orinted short-term trader and hope to benefit from the fundamental insight. I’m carefully tracking performance of my “penny stock specialist trades” and will evaluate towards the end of 2011 if the newsletter “gave me an edge.”

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
PennyChaser
PennyChaser
11 years ago

Frank has some really good picks. Biggest problem is to get the stock at his buy up to price. This is a problem in general with Stansberry. Most Stansberry picks are stocks with low volume and by the time you can get your order in the price has moved up. I realize it is tough to pick penny stocks with high volume. Stansberry should not be able to publish their cost on a stock until one day after the newsletter is published. Too many times they will crow about an incredible run up in their pick at a cost that most of their subscribers never were able to buy at. A one day waiting period to establish a base cost would at least make the marketing a little more honest.